Reviews

8.9
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
8.6
Property location
9.5
Facilities
8.5
Staff
9.0
Value
8.7

Reviews

    roxolanio
    bg

    Review score

    10
    22 April 2018
    Great place to stay.
    LIZA JANE
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    17 April 2018

    Good, character filled Hostel that I would ( and will be) staying in again

    Theres coco tea available all day which is nice if you drink tea,,,I dont. Some coffee would have been nice
    This was the third hotel in a month we stayed in in Cuzco and I liked it so much Im going back for my final stay when I return from Bolivia at the end of the week. Great location. Just enough off the square to be quiet, but not even a 5 minute walk home from the square, Able to have a drink or dinner at Paddy's Irish pub and grab a coffee at starbucks and its still hot when you have walked home. (By this stage we are over Alpaca and Guinea pig, pub grub will do). I found the bed a bit soft, but the person I was travelling with before found theirs perfect...all personal preference. They are great with help storing luggage and valuables. The breakfast is okay, nothing amazing except for the bread rolls which are fresh and crunchy..just perfect. The girls in the kitchen are lovely and nothings too much trouble and all comes with a smile. The view across the roof tops of the city from the breakfast room is a bit Mary Poppins and worth a photo.
    Laura
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    14 April 2018
    Given the wooden flooring you could hear people leaving very early in the morning and there was little hot water left for a shower in the morning on one occasion we got up slightly later
    The hostal is in a great location with a lovely garden. The breakfast was great and it was very nice to have free hot water/coca tea at any time. We were able to leave our suitcases free of charge during the Inca Trail.
    Kate
    ca

    Review score

    10
    31 March 2018

    Comfortable stay before & after your Inca Trail Trek

    We stayed here (again) just for one night after we returned from hiking the Inca Trail. Easy to check in and pay, comfy beds. The hotel had stored our excess luggage while we were away on the hike, which was fantastic. We had to leave early and so we were very sad to miss the delicious breakfast!
    Kate
    ca

    Review score

    10
    28 March 2018

    Charming, comfortable hostel in the heart of old Cusco city.

    I can't think of anything!
    It was a delight to stay here! We had a lovely room with comfortable beds, and the beautiful inner courtyards (one with a view overlooking town) provided scenic resting/relaxing opportunities. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast - fresh bread, eggs, fruit salad, and coffee - and the excellent location, just a short walk to Plaza de Armas. The staff were very helpful and friendly, we were able to pay easily by Visa, the hotel stored our bags while we were away hiking the Inca Trail, and we greatly appreciated the readily available coca tea!
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    15 March 2018
    Airport shuttle was over 30 minutes late and we suspect only turned up after we rang the hotel after 20 minutes or so. Front desk unsure of our stay dates when we arrived, which did not inspire confidence.
    Coca tea was good and plentiful (and complimentary). Courtyard is a nice place to spend some relaxation time. Lovely view from room. Consistent hot water.
    Dick & Anne
    ca

    Review score

    8.3
    11 March 2018
    Our only issue was we had no hot water for our 3 night stay. No showers etc. Finally on the 3rd night were aloud access to another room to shower. We would have been out of luck if the place was full. The only compensation was a free ride back to airport which costs 3x more to go back to airport in cab then getting to hotel upon arrival??? and $5 US/night??
    This is a lovely place to stay full of character and you cannot beat the location!! Our only issue was we had no hot water for our 3 night stay. No showers etc. Finally on the 3rd night were aloud access to another room to shower. We would have been out of luck if the place was full. The only compensation was a free ride back to airport which costs 3x more to go back to airport in cab then getting to hotel upon arrival???
    Jason
    us

    Review score

    10
    6 March 2018

    Super!

    Nice view, courtyard, and cool loft in the bedroom.
    Claudia
    br

    Review score

    8.8
    14 February 2018
    DO NOT BUY THEIR TOURS! They have arranged a trip Machu Picchu, far more expensive than others. They had promised us breakfast (2 a.m.), so we did not buy food, but there was an orange (to be eaten at the hotel's lobby without a knife), a green banana and a compressed bread. The driver came after my serious complaint, 40 min late, saying he has forgotten us. He drove like crazy, almost causing an accident. We runned with the tickets in our hands to the train. When we arrived in Aguas Calientes, the guides did not know about us, our names were not on the list and we had to plea for them to call the hotel. DO NOT BUY THEIR TOURS!
    Coca leaves tea always available.
    Happycathy88
    cn

    Review score

    8.3
    12 February 2018

    Inspire cultur

    Airport pick up charge is unfair, even 5 hours ahead to notice the fight delay, it still charge!
    Location is very good, which easily reach the center of town and the famous restaurant are also around.
    Howard
    us

    Review score

    10
    3 February 2018
    The should add a few hook to hang clothes on. This is a problem with a lot of small rooms that we stay at.
    Great breakfast. Was not expecting it. There were helpful without trying to sell us trips. Just answered what we asked. The view and court were beautiful.
    Gabriela
    ca

    Review score

    9.6
    21 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ca

    Review score

    8.3
    21 January 2018
    One side of the hotel was quite noisy with the trains constantly passing, the other side was the noise of the constant rush of water. Regardless, beautiful to see. Wifi wasn’t that good.
    Breakfast was above average. Location was central to restaurants, cafes and shuttles to tourist attractions. Staff was great.
    Gary
    au

    Review score

    10
    15 January 2018

    A lovely place to stay!

    No issues, it was great.
    Great location close to main square. Friendly and helpful staff. Cosy room with adjacent walk in robe and a functional bathroom with hot shower.
    Janelle
    au

    Review score

    10
    14 January 2018

    Comfortable budget hotel with friendly staff and better-than-average service

    24 hour reception; good security; friendly staff; laundry service and quite a good breakfast (included). Good bathrooms with hot showers. Excellent service - they looked after us when we were sick much better than most places would. If you don't like your room, ask to see another one - they vary. We started off in a small quad room for a couple of days, then when we returned they put us in a larger room with two auxiliary rooms and sofas outside.
    sg

    Review score

    8.8
    5 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ca

    Review score

    7.5
    25 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Andrew
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    22 December 2017

    Very good value for money at this welcoming hostel.

    Like all South American hotels, there was no extractor fan in the bathroom and so the mirrors always fogged up and the bathrooms were damp. Alfredo at reception assured me that during the next upgrade they will be installing these fans.
    We had two separate stays at Amaru Inca. The first room was good but we could hear the street noise and I asked that when we came back could we have a quieter room. This was done and we had a very good stay in the second room. The breakfasts are always excellent (I like the Peruvian version of cereal) and there was always mate de coca freely available just outside the reception. I drank a lot of this as it was quite tasty and helped greatly in my aclimatisation to high altitude. I found the reception staff very friendly and helpful (especially Alfredo during the day and one of the women at night). Both spoke sophisticated and excellent English and looked after us very well. The internet was okay but not brilliant and the location was excellent with lots of cheap but good restaurants nearby.
    Miguel
    gb

    Review score

    10
    19 December 2017
    The property
    Dave
    au

    Review score

    10
    7 December 2017

    Great friendly hotel in a superb location very close to plaza de armas

    Wifi only in common areas - as the information stated. Would be nice if one could get it in the rooms as well
    Great friendly hotel in good location Front office staff speak EXCELLENT English Good book a Swap
Loading reviews